Wild and Crooked

Critically acclaimed author Leah Thomas blends a small town setting with the secrets of a long ago crime, in a compelling novel about breaking free from the past In Samsboro, Kentucky, Kalyn Spence s name is inseparable from the brutal murder her father committed when he was a teenager Forced to r

This Storm

From one of the great American writers of our time Los Angeles Times Book Review a brilliant historical crime novel, a pulse pounding, as it happens narrative that unfolds in Los Angeles and Mexico in the wake in Pearl Harbor.New Year s Eve 1941, war has been declared and the Japanese internmen

The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation

Was he New York City s last pirateor its first gangster This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, port by port for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire Albert Hicks was a feared, shadowy figure of the New York underworld in the mid 1800s H

The Gone Dead

An electrifying first novel from a riveting new voice in American fiction George Saunders A young woman returns to her childhood home in the American South and uncovers secrets about her father s life and death Billie James s inheritance isn t much a little money and a shack in the Mississippi

Norco '80: The True Story of the Most Spectacular Bank Robbery in American History

In the spirit of Killers of the Flower Moon and The Onion Field, Norco 80 is a gripping true crime account of one of the most violent bank heists in US history.Norco 80 tells the story of how five heavily armed young men led by an apocalyptic born again Christian attempted a bank robbery that turn

The Truffle Underground: A Tale of Mystery, Mayhem, and Manipulation in the Shadowy Market of the World's Most Expensive Fungus

Beneath the gloss of star chefs and crystal laden tables, the truffle supply chain is touched by theft, secrecy, sabotage, and fraud Farmers patrol their fields with rifles and fear losing trade secrets to spies Hunters plant poisoned meatballs to eliminate rival truffle hunting dogs Naive buyers

Indecent Advances: The Hidden History of Murder and Masculinity Before Stonewall

A skillful hybrid of true crime and social history that examines how popular culture, the media, and the psychological profession portrayed crimes against gay men in the years leading up to the Stonewall Riots In his skillful hybrid of true crime and cultural history, James Polchin provides an impo

Grace Will Lead Us Home: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness

A deeply moving work of narrative nonfiction on the tragic shootings at the Mother Emanuel AME church in Charleston, South Carolina On June 17, 2015, twelve members of the historically black Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, South Carolina welcomed a young white man to their evening Bible study He

Conviction

Conviction stars a strong female protagonist who is obsessed by true crime podcasts and decides, one day, to investigate one of the unsolved crimes herself It s just a normal morning for Anna McDonald Gym kits, packed lunches, getting everyone up and ready Until she opens the front door to her be